Proposal Committee

7. Proposal Committee

This report provides details of the FY2019 activities of the committees related to Usage Promotion Services of JASRI as a Registered Institution for Facilities Use Promotion (hereafter, Registered Institution) among the activities of SPring-8 and SACLA committees.

1. SPring-8

1-1. Committee overview

In accordance with the provision of Article 16 of the Act for the Promotion of Public Utilization of Specific Advanced Large Research Facilities (Act No. 78 of 1994; hereafter, Public Utilization Act), the Registered Institution established the SPring-8 Selection Committee and held meetings to solicit feedback about User Selection Services of JASRI. Moreover, the following committees were established and held meetings so that the president of JASRI can select proposals as the representative of the Registered Institution: (a) SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee for reviewing research proposals, (b) Contract Beamline Committee for reviewing contract beamlines, (c) Partner User Review Committee for reviewing Partner Users, (d) Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects Review Committee for reviewing research groups for Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects, and (e) SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review Committee for examining matters related to the publication of research results.

Moreover, a meeting of the Review Committee of Research Activities as a Registered Institution was held to review the activities of JASRI on Research Utilizing Facilities in accordance with Article 12 of the Public Utilization Act.

1-2. Committee meetings

Committee meetings were held as follows:

- 29th SPring-8 Selection Committee Meeting [Date] August 8, 2019 [Location] Station Conference Tokyo (Tokyo)
- 30th SPring-8 Selection Committee Meeting[Date] February 13, 2020[Location] Station Conference Tokyo (Tokyo)
- 31st SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee Meeting[Date] August 2, 2019[Location] SPring-8

32nd SPring-8 Proposal Review Committee Meeting

[Date] January 31, 2020 [Location] SPring-8

29th Contract Beamline Committee Meeting [Date] June 12, 2019 [Location] SPring-8

30th Contract Beamline Committee Meeting [Date] November 14, 2019 [Location] SPring-8

17th Partner User Review Committee Meeting[Date] May 22–31, 2019[Location] Virtual (Document review by email)

18th Partner User Review Committee Meeting[Date] December 4, 2019[Location] SPring-8

Proposal Committee

9th Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects Review Committee Meeting

[Date] June 10–17, 2019 [Location] Virtual (Document review by email)

10th Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects Review Committee Meeting

[Date] July 26, 2019 [Location] Online meeting

11th Epoch-Making Initiatives Projects ReviewCommittee Meeting[Date] Nov 29–5, 2019[Location] Virtual (Document review by email)

16th SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review Committee Meeting [Date] July 16, 2019 [Location] SPring-8

17th SPring-8/SACLA Research Results ReviewCommittee Meeting[Date] December 16, 2019[Location] SPring-8

1-3. Committee members as of March 31, 2020

FY2019–2020 SPring-8 Selection Committee
(Chair)
Satoshi Sasaki
Professor Emeritus, Tokyo Institute of Technology
(Deputy Chair)
Akihiko Fujiwara
Professor, Kwansei Gakuin University
(Members)
Wataru Utsumi
Director, Institute for Advanced Synchrotron

Light Source, National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology Hiroyuki Kishimoto Head of Chemical Analysis Center, Chemical Analysis Center Research & Development HQ, Sumitomo Rubber Industries Akio Kimura Professor, Hiroshima University Yuichi Shimakawa Professor, Kyoto University Yoshiki Seno Vice-Director, Kyushu Synchrotron Light Research Center Yoshikazu Takeda Director, Aichi Synchrotron Radiation Center Tomitake Tsukihara Specially Appointed Professor, University of Hyogo Atsushi Fujimori Visiting Professor, Waseda University Yoichi Murakami Professor, Inter-University Research Institute Corporation High Energy Accelerator Research Organization Yuriko Yamagata Professor Emeritus, Kumamoto University Kazuyoshi Yamada Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University

2. SACLA

2-1. Committee overview

In accordance with the provision of Article 16 of the Public Utilization Act, the Registered Institution established the SACLA Selection Committee and held meetings to solicit feedback about the User Selection Services of JASRI. Moreover, the SACLA Proposal Review Committee was established and held meetings to review research proposals so that the president of JASRI can select proposals as the representative of the Registered Institution.

The activities of the committees related to Usage Promotion Services of both SACLA and SPring-8 include (a) SPring-8/SACLA Research Results Review Committee for examining matters related to the publication of research results and (b) Committee for Reviewing Research Activities as Registered Institution for Facilities Use Promotion, which was established by JASRI as a Registered Institution, for reviewing activities on Research Utilizing Facilities in accordance with Article 12 of the Public Utilization Act.

2-2. Committee meetings

Committee meetings were held as follows:

- 19th SACLA Selection Committee Meeting[Date] July 23, 2019[Location] Station Conference Tokyo (Tokyo)
- 20th SACLA Selection Committee Meeting [Date] December 23, 2019 [Location] Station Conference Tokyo (Tokyo)
- 17th SACLA Proposal Review Committee Meeting [Date] July 12, 2019
 - [Location] Himeji Nishi-Harima Regional Industry Center (Jibasan Building)

18th SACLA Proposal Review Committee Meeting[Date] December 9, 2019[Location] Himeji Nishi-Harima Regional

Industry Center (Jibasan Building)

2-3. Committee members as of March 31, 2020 (Chair)

Nobuhiro Kosugi

Director, Inter-University Research Institute Corporation High Energy Accelerator Research Organization

(Deputy Chair)

Atsushi Nakagawa

Professor, Osaka University

(Members)

Ryoji Asahi

Leader, Materials Informatics Research Domain,

Toyota Central R&D Labs

Shinichiro Iwai

Professor, Tohoku University

Tetsuya Kawachi

Director, Kansai Photon Science Institute, National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology

Tsuyoshi Kimura

Professor, The University of Tokyo

Mizuki Takahashi

Scientist, Daiichi Sankyo

Osamu Nureki

Professor, The University of Tokyo

Hitoki Yoneda

Professor, The University of Electro-Communications

(Affiliations and titles are as of March 31, 2020)

User Administration Division, JASRI