SPring-8 Research Frontiers describes the outstanding scientific achievements produced at SPring-8 beamlines (BLs): public BLs including R&D BLs, contract BLs, JAERI/RIKEN BLs and an accelerator diagnosis BL. This fourth volume "2000/2001" covers advances made during the two consecutive research terms, the second half of 2000 and the first half of 2001.

In this volume we made some modifications to the editorial framework. The classification of scientific reports was changed from the grouping of the research fields used at the Proposal Review Committee to that of general research disciplines. The article on the facility status in this volume was written in more detail, since the SPring-8 Annual Report, which used to describe the status and activities of the facilities in English is now written in Japanese and we hope that English-speaking user will substitute the SPring-8 Research Frontiers for the SPring-8 Annual Report for their reference.

We invited seven specialists from the Proposal Review Committee to serve as the Editing Coordinators for their respective research fields :

Life Science : Professor Masaru Tanokura (The University of Tokyo) Materials Science : Professor Satoshi Sasaki (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Chemical Science : Professor Inosuke Koyano (Himeji Institute of Technology) Earth & Planetary Science : Professor Tetsuo lrifune (Ehime University) Environmental Science : Professor Iwao Watanabe (Osaka Women's University) Industrial Application : Professor Tokuhiko Okamoto (Chubu University) Instrumentation & Methodology : Professor Makoto Watanabe (Tohoku University)

We would like to express our most sincere appreciation to the Editing Coordinators for their efforts in preparing the introductory overviews and providing comments on each research field. We would also like to express our gratitude to users and facility members of SPring-8 for contributing their reports to the SPring-8 Research Frontiers.

SPring-8 Research Frontiers will be sent on request. Its full text is also available by accessing the SPring-8 Web site (http://www.spring8.or.jp/)

Editorial Board

Seishi Kikuta (Chief Editor)	SPring-8/JASRI
Tetsuya Ishikawa	SPring-8/RIKEN•JASRI
Shunichi Kawanishi	SPring-8/JASRI
Noritaka Kumagai	SPring-8/JASRI
Wataru Matsumoto	SPring-8/JASRI
Osamu Shimomura	SPring-8/JAERI
Yoshitsugu Shiro	SPring-8/RIKEN
Hiroyoshi Suematsu	SPring-8/JASRI
Tatzuo Ueki	SPring-8/JASRI