## **Editor's Note**

**SPring-8 Research Frontiers** describes the outstanding scientific achievements produced at SPring-8 beamlines: public beamlines including R&D beamlines, contract beamlines, JAERI/RIKEN beamlines and an accelerator diagnosis beamline. This fifth issue "2001B/2002A" covers advances made during the two consecutive research terms, the second half of 2001 and the first half of 2002.

The number of papers published based on the research results obtained at SPring-8 has increased steadily every year. As the number of publications increased, the number of excellent papers also increased. Among the excellent results, 42 results are selected and categorized into seven research disciplines with one exception to be reported in this issue: the exception is about nuclear physics, which was obtained using -rays generated by inverse Compton scattering.

We invited seven specialists from the Proposal Review Committee to serve as the Editing Coordinators for their respective research fields:

Life Science : Professor Masaru Tanokura (The University of Tokyo) Materials Science : Professor Satoshi Sasaki (Tokyo Institute of Technology) Chemical Science : Professor Inosuke Koyano (Himeji Institute of Technology) Earth & Planetary Science : Professor Tetsuo Irífune (Ehime University) Environmental Science : Professor Iwao Watanabe (Osaka Women's University) Industrial Application : Professor Tokuhíko Okamoto (Ritsumeikan University) Instrumentation & Methodology : Professor Makoto Watanabe (Tohoku University)

We would like to express our most sincere appreciation to the Editing Coordinators for their efforts in preparing the introductory overviews and providing comments on each research field. We would also like to express our gratitude to users and facility members of SPring-8 for contributing their reports to the SPring-8 Research Frontiers.

**SPring-8 Research Frontiers** will be sent on request. Its full text is also available on the SPring-8 Web site (http://www.spring8.or.jp/)

## **Editorial Board**

Seishi **Kikuta** (Chief Editor) Tetsuya **Ishikawa** Noritaka **Kumagai** Wataru **Matsumoto** Osamu **Shimomura** Yoshitsugu **Shiro** Hiroyoshi **Suematsu** Tatzuo **Ueki**  SPring-8/JASRI SPring-8/RIKEN•JASRI SPring-8/JASRI SPring-8/JASRI SPring-8/RIKEN SPring-8/JASRI SPring-8/JASRI