SPring-8, the large synchrotron radiation facility

Skip to content
Personal tools

Synchrotron Radiation Facilities


Country SR Facility / Storage Ring Institution Location
Armenia CANDLE light source Center for the Advancement of Natural Discoveries using Light Emission (CANDLE) Yerevan
India INDUS-I, INDUS-II Center for Advanced Technology (CAT) Indore
UVSOR Facility Institute for Molecular Science (IMS), National Institutes of Natural Sciences (NINS) Okazaki, Aichi
SPring-8 RIKEN, Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute (JASRI) Nishi-Harima, Hyogo
SACLA (XFEL) RIKEN, Japan Synchrotron Radiation Research Institute (JASRI) Nishi-Harima, Hyogo
NewSUBARU Laboratory of Advanced Science and Technology for Industry (LASTI), University of Hyogo (UH) Nishi-Harima, Hyogo
SAGA Light Source Kyushu Synchrotron Light Research Center Tosu, Saga
Aichi Synchrotron Radiation Center Aichi Science and Technology Foundation Knowledge Hub Aichi
HiSOR Hiroshima Synchrotron Radiation Center (HSRC), Hiroshima University Hiroshima
FEL-TUS Research Institute for Science & Technology, Tokyo University of Science Noda, Chiba
Institute of Free Electron Laser (iFEL) Graduate School of Engineering, Osaka University Hirakata, Osaka
Laboratory for Electron Beam Research and Application, LEBRA Institute of Quantum Science, Nihon University Hunabashi, Chiba
Synchrotron Radiation Center(AURORA ) Ritsumeikan UniversitySynchrotron Radiation Center Kusatsu, Shiga
【Under construction】Super Lightsource for Industrial Technology of Japan National Institutes for Quantum and Radiological Science and Technology(QST)Photon Science Innovation Center(PhoSIC)Tohoku University Sendai, Miyagi
Jordan Synchrotron-light for Experimental Science and Applications in the Middle East (SESAME) Interim Council (fourteen Members; Armenia, Cyprus, Egypt, Greece, Iran, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Morocco, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Authority, Turkey, and the United Arab Emirates); Observer countries include France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Russia, the UK, and the US. Allan
Korea Pohang Light Source (PLS-II) Pohang Accelerator Laboratory (PAL), Pohang University of Science and Technology (POSTECH) Pohang
P. R. China Beijing Electron Positron Collider (BEPC) Beijing Synchrotron Radiation Facility (BSRF), Institute of High Energy Physics (IHEP) Beijing
Shanghai Synchrotron Radiation Facility (SSRF) Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics (SINAP) Shanghai
National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory (NSRL) University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) Hefei, Anhui
R. of China (Taiwan) Taiwan Light Source (TLS)
Taiwan Photon Source (TPS)
National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (NSRRC) Hsinchu
Singapore Helios II Singapore Synchrotron Light Source (SSLS), National University of Singapore (NUS) Research Link
Thailand Siam Photon Source (SPS) Synchrotron Light Research Institute (Public Organization) (SLRI) Nakhon Ratchasima
Denmark ASTRIDASTRID2 Institute for Storage Ring Facilities University of Aarhus (ISA) Aarhus
France European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) A multinational research institute supported by 17 European countries Grenoble
Synchrotron SOLEIL A joint team of the French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) and the French National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), supported by the Ile de France region and the General Council of the Essonne department GIF-sur-YVETTE CEDEX
Germany BESSY-II Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin (HZB) including the former Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellschaft für Synchrotronstrahlung m.b.H. (BESSY) Berlin
PETRA III, European XFEL HAmburger SYnchrotronstrahlungs LABor (HASYLAB), Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) Hamburg
Electron Linear accelerator with high Brilliance and Low Emittance (ELBE), Free-Electron Lasers at the ELBE (FELBE) Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR) Dresden
Dortmunder Elektronen Testspeicherring Anlage (DELTA) University of Dortmund Dortmund
Ångströmquelle Karlsruhe (ANKA) Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)– The Research University in the Helmholtz Association Karlsruhe
Electron Stretcher Accelerator (ELSA) Physics Institute, Bonn University Bonn
Italy ELETTRA Elettra Synchrotron Light Source, European Round Table Trieste
Poland SOLARIS Jagiellonian University Krakow
Russia Siberia-1, Siberia-2 Kurchatov Synchrotron Radiation Source (KSRS), Russian Research Center (RRC) "Kurchatov Institute" Moscow
VEPP-3, VEPP-4M Siberian Synchrotron Radiation Centre (SSRC), Budker Institute of Nuclear Physics (BINP), Siberian Branch of Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) Novosibirsk
Spain ALBA CELLS (Consortium for the Exploitation of the Synchrotron Light Laboratory) Barcelona
Sweden MAX-IV MAX-IV Lab, Lund University Lund
Switzerland Swiss Light Source (SLS) Paul Scherrer Institute (PSI) Villigen
Swiss Free Electron Laser
United Kingdom Diamond Light Source Diamond Light Source Ltd. Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire
North America
Canada Canadian Light Source (CLS) University of Saskatchewan Saskatoon
USA Advanced Photon Source (APS) Argonne National Laboratory (ANL) Argonne
Cornell Electron Storage Ring (CESR) Cornell High Energy Synchrotron Source (CHESS), Cornell University Ithaca
Duke Free Electron Laser Laboratory (DFELL) Duke University Durham
Center for Advanced Microstructures & Devices (CAMD) Louisiana State University (LSU) Baton Rouge
Advanced Light Source (ALS) Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, University of California Berkeley
Synchrotron Ultraviolet Radiation Facility (SURF-III) Electron and Optical Physics Division, Physics Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Gaithersburg
National Synchrotron Light Source II (NSLS-II) Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL) Upton
Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource (SSRL)
Linac Coherent Light Source (LCLS)
Australia Australian Synchrotron Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO) Melbourne, Victoria
South America
Brazil UVX
Brazilian Synchrotron Light Laboratory (LNLS) Campinas
Last modified 2022-04-19 09:30