SPring-8, the large synchrotron radiation facility

Skip to content
Personal tools

List of Major Awards/Prize Winners

Many researchers have been recognized for their research conducted at SPring-8. Here is a list of major awards received.

The Asahi Prize
    2009 Clarification of the Mechanical Operation of the Calcium Pump
       Chikashi Toyoshima (Professor, The University of Tokyo)

The Nishina Memorial Prize
    2003 Discovery of a New Particle by using LASER Compton Gamma Rays
       Takashi Nakano (Professor, Osaka University)

The IBM Japan Science Prize
    2007 Invention of Diffracted X-ray Tracking and its Application to Interdisciplinary Fields
       Yuji Sasaki (Senior Scientist, JASRI)
    Discovery of Post-Perovskite Phase and Research on the Earth's Core-Mantle Boundary
         Kei Hirose (Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology)

The Shimadzu Prize
    2006 Development and Application of High Precision and Resolution Spectroscopy using Synchrotron Radiation
       Shigemasa Suga (Professor, Osaka University)

Director-General of the National Police Agency Award
    2009 Application of X-ray fluorescence analysis using High-Energy Synchrotron Radiation to Forensic Science
       Yoshinori Nishiwaki (Crime Laboratory, Hyogo Prefectural Police Headquarters)

Eugen und Ilse Seibold-Preis (The Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize)
    2003 Japan-Germany Collaborative Research on the Nanotechnologies of Semiconductors, Magnetic Materials, Superconductors, and Nanomagnetic Materials, and Achievements in Photoelectron Spectroscopy Research using SPring-8
       Shigemasa Suga (Professor, Osaka University)

The Humboldt Research Award
    2007 Research on Earth's Interior Science and Structural Materials, and Synthesis of Ultrahard Nano-Polycrystalline Diamond (HIME-DIA)
       Tetsuo Irifune (Professor, Ehime University)
  2008 Research on Synthesis and Functionalization of Microporous Coordination Polymers
      Susumu Kitagawa (Professor, Kyoto University)

The Helmholtz Humboldt Research Award
    2008 Solid State Physics Research using Bulk-Sensitive Photoelectron Spectroscopy
       Shigemasa Suga (Professor, Osaka University)

The Commendation for Science and Technology by the Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

Prizes for Science and Technology (Research Category)
    2005 Research on High Resolution Photoelectron Spectrometer using Wide Energy Range Electrons
       Shigemasa Suga (Professor, Osaka University), Shin Imada (Associate Professor, Osaka University), Akira Sekiyama (Assistant Professor, Osaka University)
    Research on Short-Period In-Vacuum Undulators
         Hideo Kitamura (Chief Scientist, RIKEN)
2006 Research on the X-ray Crystal Structure Analysis of Cytochrome Oxidase
       Shinya Yoshikawa (Professor, The University of Hyogo), Kazumasa Muramoto (Associate Professor, The University of Hyogo), Kyoko Ito (Assistant Professor, The University of Hyogo)
    2008 Research on the Visualization of Electron and Nuclear Density Distributions based on Information Theory
       Makoto Sakata (Professor Emeritus, Nagoya University)
    Development of High Brilliance Infrared Synchrotron Radiation and its Application to Materials Science
         Takao Nanba (Professor, Kobe University), Shin-ichi Kimura (Associate Professor, Institute for Molecular Science)
    Research on Atomic Stereo-Photography using Circularly-Polarized Synchrotron Radiation
       Hiroshi Daimon (Professor, Nara Institute of Science and Technology), Fumihiko Matsui (Assistant Professor, Nara Institute of Science and Technology), Tomohiro Matsushita (Senior Scientist, JASRI), Fang Zhun Guo (JASRI)
    2009 Research on Materials Structure using Neutron and Synchrotron Radiation X-ray Scattering
       Yasuhiko Fujii (Director, Japan Atomic Energy Agency)
    Research on High Strength Steal Pipe Welding Metallurgy using Heterogeneous Nucleation
         Yu-ichi Komizo (Professor, Osaka University)

Prizes for Science and Technology (Development Category)
    2006 Development of Ultrasensitive Analysis Techniques in Forensic Science
       Shin-ichi Suzuki (Chief, National Research Institute of Police Science), Yasuhiro Suzuki (Director, Forensic Science Laboratory, Shiga Prefectural Police), Masaaki Kasamatsu (National Research Institute of Police Science)
  2007 Development of Large-Scale Synchrotron Radiation X-ray Optical System
         Tetsuya Ishikawa (Director, RIKEN SPring-8 Center)
2007 Development of Inspection/Maintenance/Repair Technologies of Nuclear Reactor using Lasers
       Yuji Sano (Toshiba), Naruhiko Mukai (Toshiba), Makoto Ochiai (Toshiba), Yoshinobu Makino (Toshiba), Masaki Yoda (Toshiba)

The Young Scientists' Prize
    2009 Research on Operation Mechanisms of Secondary Transporter Proteins on Biological Membranes
       Atsuko Yamashita (RIKEN)

The Nishikawa Prize, The Crystallographic Society of Japan
    2005 Promotion of Diffraction Physics and Synchrotron Radiation Science
       Seishi Kikuta (Professor Emeritus, The University of Tokyo)

SPring-8's Users have been awarded the following awards/prizes.

The Physical Society of Japan Award for Academic Papers on Physics, The Chemical Society of Japan Award, The Award of the Society of Polymer Science, The Japan Institute of Metals Prize, The Japanese Society for Synchrotron Radiation Research Prize, The Japanese Society of High Pressure Science and Technology Prize, The Crystallographic Society of Japan Prize, The Particle Accelerator Society of Japan Encouragement Prize, The Japanese Society for Plant Systematics Prize, The Ceramic Society of Japan Award for Contributions to Promotion of Society Activities, The International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology Jamieson Award, The Hyogo SPring-8 Award, etc.

Detailed information about awards/prizes is available at SPring-8's website (in Japanese).

Award Presentation Ceremony, Asahi Prize

Award Presentation Ceremony, Asahi Prize

Award Presentation Ceremony, Helmholtz Humboldt Research Award

Award Presentation Ceremony, Helmholtz Humboldt Research Award

Last modified